Girl Scouts Elects New National Board of Directors

October 10, 2005

Kristen Ryan
Patrice Tanaka & Company, Inc.
212-229-0500 ext. 244

NEW YORK — Girl Scouts of the USA elected its first Latina chair and a new National Board of Directors today at the 2005 Girl Scout National Council Session/50th Convention held in Atlanta.

The new national board members will serve the organization over the next three years, a period during which the Girl Scout movement will continue its historical mission to build girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place.

The Girl Scout National Board of Directors consists of 40 men and women. National Board members have expertise in fields from technology to education and hail from the Latino, African-American, Indian-American, and Caucasian communities, keeping Girl Scouting's commitment to diversity stronger than ever.

The 2005-2008 National Board of Directors includes:


• President – Patricia Diaz Dennis, San Antonio, Texas
• First Vice President – Sharon H. Matthews, Charlotte, N.C.
• Second Vice President – Mary P. Borba, Stamford, Conn.
• Secretary – Linda P. Foreman, Durham, N.C.
• Treasurer – Gwendolyn J. Wong, Hillsborough, Calif.


• Susan L. Anderson, Philadelphia, Pa.
• Sheri Betts, Mitchellville, Md.
• Donna L. Blackwell, New York, N.Y.
• Patsy Brison, Asheville, N.C.
• Valdar Coryat, Freeport, N.Y.
• Tanya Dawkins, Coral Gables, Fla.
• Tjada D’Oyen, Brooklyn, NY
• Raquel “Rocky” Egusquiza, Dearborn, Mich.
• Mimi U.B. Coppersmith Fredman, State College, Pa.
• Tom Frost, III, San Antonio, Texas
• Michelle L. Garcia, Washington, D.C.
• Olivia N. Graham, Arlington, Va.
• Nan C. Hillis, Tallahassee, Fla.
• Kip Hughes, Denver, Colo.
• Marne L. Keller-Krikava, Appleton, Wis.
• Connie L. Lindsey, Chicago, Ill.
• Sandra E. Madrid, Bothell, Wash.
• Nancy Marino, Upper Brookville, N.Y.
• Gail G. Mattson, Oak Ridge, Tenn.
• Melodie Mayberry-Stewart, Cleveland, Ohio
• Joseph L. Mayfield, Greenwich, Conn.
• Linda Mazon-Gutierrez, Tucson, Ariz.
• Debra Nakatomi, Los Angeles, Calif.
• Judith A. Ramaley, Alexandria, Va.
• Angel L. Rodriquez, Parker, Texas
• Patricia Bowe Romines, Bartlesville, Okla.
• Rhea S. Schwartz, Washington, D.C.
• Sara L. Schwebel, Cambridge, Mass.
• Joyce Espy Searcy, Nashville, Tenn.
• Brigadier General Annie Sobel, Tigeres, N.M.
• Gail M. Talbott, Cocoa Beach, Fla.
• Davia Temin, New York, N.Y.
• Marisa Tabizon Thompson, Eugene, Ore.
• Joan Wagnon, Topeka, Kan.
• Perry Yeatman, Westport, Conn.

Members of the Girl Scout National Board are elected every three years by members of the National Council, which consists of national and international delegates, the National Nominating Committee, past presidents of Girl Scouts of the USA, and other persons who may be elected by the National Council.

This year, the National Council Session was held concurrently with the 50th Triennial Convention, bringing together 10,000 Girl Scout members and volunteers. This landmark gathering celebrated 93 years of Girl Scouting while focusing on a new strategy for the 21st century, one which supports Girl Scouts' goal—to help girls to live the values of the Girl Scout Promise and Law—with a new vision for sustained success, growth, and expansion.

About Girl Scouts of the USA

Girl Scouts of the USA is the preeminent organization for and leading authority on girls with 3.7 million girl and adult members. Now in its 93rd year, Girl Scouting builds girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place. The organization strives to serve girls from every corner of the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. For more information on how to join, volunteer, or donate to the Girl Scouts, call (800) GSUSA 4 U (800-478-7248) or visit www.girlscouts.org.