[X] CLOSE

Environmental Events Calendar

 

January 1: On January 1, 1970, the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969 was enacted. It required all federal agencies to assess the impact of federal actions on the environment.

January 19: Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service, www.mlkday.org

February 2: World Wetlands Day

February 13 - 16: Great Backyard Bird Count, www.birdsource.org/gbbc

February 21: Establishment of the Washington Monument 1885, www.nps.gov/wamo

March 1: On March 1, 1872, Yellowstone National Park, the nation's first national park, was established by an act of Congress, and signed into law by President Ulysses S. Grant, www.nps.gov/yell/index.htm

March 1 - May 31: Great American Cleanup, www.kab.org

March 13: On March 13, 1903, the National Wildlife Refuge System was established

April: National Garden Month, www.nationalgardenmonth.org

April 12 - 18: National Environmental Education Week, www.eeweek.org

April 18 - 26: National Park Week, www.nps.gov/npweek

April 22: Earth Day, www.earthday.net

April 24 - 26: National & Global Youth Service Day, www.ysa.org/nysd

April 19 – 25: National Volunteer Week

April 24: National Arbor Day, www.arborday.org

Spring 2009: FrogWatch USA, www.nwf.org/frogwatchusa, Nature Quest Wildlife Watch, www.nwf.org/wildlifewatch

May 1-31: American Wetlands Month, www.epa.gov/owow/wetlands/awm

May 2: Join Hands Day

May 3 - 9: Drinking Water Week

May 9: International Migratory Bird Day, www.birdday.org

May 15: Endangered Species Day, www.endangeredspeciesday.org

May 22: International Day for Biological Diversity, www.cbd.int/ibd

May 28: Sierra Club founded in 1892, www.sierraclub.org

May 31 – June 8: National River Cleanup Week, www.nationalrivercleanup.com

June 1-30: Great Outdoors Month, www.greatoutdoorsmonth.org

June 6: National Trails Day, www.americanhiking.org/ntd.aspx

June 6 - 14: National Fishing and Boating Week, www.rbff.org/page.cfm?pageID=11

June 5: World Environment Day, www.unep.org/wed

June 13: National Get Outdoors Day, www.nationalgetoutdoorsday.org

June 27: Great American Backyard Campout, www.backyardcampout.org/girlscouts

July 1 - 7: National Clean Beaches Week, www.cleanbeaches.org

July 18 - 25: Wyoming's Wildlife Wonders destinations, destinations

August 4: On August 4, 1954, the Small Watershed Program was enacted to help communities protect watersheds.

August 9: Smokey Bear's birthday

August 25: National Park Founder's Day. On August 25, 1916, the National Park Service was created by an act signed by President Woodrow Wilson.

September 3: The Wilderness Act of 1964 enacted by Congress

September 18: World Water Monitoring Day, www.worldwatermonitoringday.org

September 19: International Coastal Cleanup, www.coastalcleanup.org

September 26: National Public Lands Day, www.publiclandsday.org/

October 2: Appalachian Trail established in 1937, www.nps.gov/appa

October 7 - 13: National Wildlife Refuge Week

October 18: Clean Water Act enacted by Congress (1972)

October 24: Make a Difference Day, www.usaweekend.com/diffday/index.html

November 18: On November 18, 1977, the Soil and Water Resources Conservation Act was enacted to further the conservation, protection and enhancement of the nation's natural resources for sustained use.

November 22: National Family Volunteer Day

December 23: On December 23, 1985, the 1985 Farm Bill was passed. It was the first farm bill to include a conservation title and to require that farmers follow conservation measures to be eligible for USDA program benefits.

Additional Information

Environmental events can extend a girls' journey experience. Girl Scouts can also volunteer in environmental events done in collaboration with a federal or state natural resource agency or on federal or state lands. Girls can continue to work on other Girl Scout environmental, outdoor and STEM awards while volunteering.

Visit www.takepride.gov and www.volunteer.gov for additional events.